APSS Governance

The General Assembly (GA) is the apex body which holds ultimate decision making power of the APSS. It makes major decisions and policy framework for every five year; last GA was held in Kathmandu in 2012 electing 11-member central executive committee (five of them are current Office Bearers). Next GA will be conducted in the last quarter of 2016.

Annual Conference takes place every year to assess and pass the Annual Progress Report (APR), and approves the financial statements and annual programmes. The General Assembly elects the Central Executive Committee (CEC) for four-year tenure. The CEC is the executing body of the APSS consists of a President, a Vice-President, a General Secretary, a Secretary, a Treasurer and 4 Members. To execute the GA and Annual Conference mandates and programmes the CEC takes advices from an Advisory Committee (AC) which is elected by GA for the same five years. The CEC has a central office at Kalikasthan in Kathmandu with necessary equipments, library and staffs and volunteers/interns.

There are different Sub-Committees (SC) under the CEC with clear rights, responsibilities and duties. There are President, Vice-President, General Secretary, Admin & Finance Coordinator, and Legal Advisor as Office Bearers & Support Staffs to systematically support the CEC to make and implement the policy and programmes/projects and day to day administrative operation. Under special projects which are bilateral cooperation with internal and international funding partner may have separate personnel for a pre-determined period, as per decision made by the CEC on need, and terms and condition settled in the project.

APSS Constitution (Both Nepali and English versions) will be posted here soon…………